Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this guide to find information about the U.S. Presidents.
Mr. Whittier will post information about your assignment here.
WhiteHouse.gov: This page has links to biographies of all U.S. Presidents.
Excellent source includes links to birthplace and gravesite, first lady and family, geneaology, biographies, pictures and portraits.
This website, created as a companion to C-SPAN's 20th anniversary television series, provides an in-depth look at each of the presidents, their lives, families and administrations.
Includes information on the era in which the president served, his domestic and foreign policies, and his politics. An interactive web site based on the PBS series.
Search Destiny - Our Online Catalog
Highlighted Books & Materials from Our Library
Did you know, we have more than 90 biographies about U.S. presidents? Find biographies by doing a search in our catalog or browsing the shelves. Biographies are alphabetized by the last name of the person the book is about.
However, do not stop there! We have other books about U.S. presidents in our nonfiction section and in our reference section. Search our catalog to find them. A few of these books are highlighted below.
Lincoln Through the Lens by
Call Number: 973.7 SAN
Contains over one hundred images of the life of Abraham Lincoln that provide a portrait of his presidency and the events surrounding it.
Call Number: 353.03 BAR
Presents illustrated profiles of every American president up to George W. Bush, briefly describing their challenges in office, their popularity, and their wives and families.
The Upset That Wasn't by
Call Number: 324.973 GUL
Describes the 1948 presidential election which Harry S. Truman won in spite of the defection of the left and right wings of his party and the public opinion polls that said he would lose to New York Governor Thomas E. Dewey.
The Avenger Takes His Place by
Call Number: 973.8 MEA
Recounts Andrew Jackson's first six weeks as president, discussing how he coped with the assassination of Abraham Lincoln and its aftermath, the political and social chaos plaguing the nation, and his own impact on the nation's destiny.
Dwight D. Eisenhower by
Call Number: 973.921 DWI
Examines the presidency of Dwight D. Eisenhower, discussing his efforts to contain communism and to avoid war in Vietnam, as well as his involvement with McCarthyism and the desegregation of schools. Includes brief biographical information.
Ambling into History by
Call Number: 973.931 BRU
Discusses George W. Bush's journey to the presidency and his leadership in the wake of the September 11 terrorist attacks, examining Bush's personality and political skills, as well as the factors and biases that shape and color political media coverage.
We Are the Change We Seek by
Call Number: 973.932 OBA
Collects twenty-seven speeches of Barack Obama, including his 2002 speech opposing the Iraq War and his farewell speech in Chicago January 2017.
Search Web Path Express
Start Here! Find websites containing articles, videos, maps, primary source material and more. Log in to your Destiny account to create resource lists and MLA citations.
World Book Online
Remember, the log-in ID is suttonsammies. If you do not remember the password, please ask Mrs. Farmer or Mrs. Goddard.
Using your Massachusetts library card, you can access numerous databases through the Sutton Public Library. Click above for databases related to history.